Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2003, 12:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: secret
Posts: 3,044
Our favorite multimeter is on sale

The Craftsman #82139 Sears #03482139000 is on sale until 06/15 for $19.99. No excuse now for not having something that can read duty cycle! Just thought I'd let yall know.
Attached Thumbnails
Our favorite multimeter is on sale-03482139000-dlv.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2003, 12:31 PM
Zeus's Avatar
Moderating, Eh?
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,774
Anyone know of a good site/info on how to properly use a multimeter?? I've occasionally blown a few fuses trying to use mine...

I have a similar one to the unit shown above.
__________________
Chris
2007 E550 4Matic - 61,000 Km - Iridium Silver, black leather, Sport package, Premium 2 package
2007 GL450 4Matic - 62,000 Km - Obsidian Black Metallic, black leather, all options
1998 E430 - sold
1989 300E - 333,000 Km - sold
1977 280E - sold
1971 250 - retired


"And a frign hat. They gave me a hat at the annual benefits meeting. I said. how does this benefit me. I dont have anything from the company.. So they gave me a hat." - TheDon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2003, 01:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,303
Looks like a bargain alright! I've been needing another one, so it looks like I will pick one up, if the sale is here in SoCal as well. Thanks!

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2003, 01:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,303
Zeus, I don't know such a site. However, the most likely cause of blowing a fuse with the above meter is accidentally leaving it set to current while measuring a voltage, or incorrectly using it on the current ranges.

Note that in current mode it will appear as essentially a short circuit wherever you connect it. You must cut what is already a 'short', i.e. a wire, and connect the meter ends to the two cut wire ends to complete the circuit. This way the meter measures the current passing through the meter, and completes the circuit you cut open. In practice, to avoid chopping up your vehicle's wiring, it is best to either buy or fabricate a special test harness wherever you would otherwise have to cut.

Testing electical and electronic circuits can be very confusing for the neophyte, and I would start by learning basic electronic circuits. Use of the multimeter will then become obvious.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2003, 01:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: secret
Posts: 3,044
Since this is turning into a how to thread, why not try reading the instructions that came with your meter??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2003, 01:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 571
Sbourg's advise is to be heeded. You must understand basic electrical circuits before you start using a multi-meter. Book stores & libraries are filled with manuals on basic electricity. I would buy one and read it from end-to-end first.

Once that's done, go to the GOOGLE search engine ->

http://www.google.com.

In the search field, key in -> How To Use A Multimeter

Happy hunting.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2003, 01:53 PM
Zeus's Avatar
Moderating, Eh?
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,774
Thanks guys.

Cap'n - mine came with no instructions at all.

Mike - yes, done that. Since many of the people on this board are generally very helpful and knowledgeable, I was hoping for perhaps a direct link to a proven and informative site.
__________________
Chris
2007 E550 4Matic - 61,000 Km - Iridium Silver, black leather, Sport package, Premium 2 package
2007 GL450 4Matic - 62,000 Km - Obsidian Black Metallic, black leather, all options
1998 E430 - sold
1989 300E - 333,000 Km - sold
1977 280E - sold
1971 250 - retired


"And a frign hat. They gave me a hat at the annual benefits meeting. I said. how does this benefit me. I dont have anything from the company.. So they gave me a hat." - TheDon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2003, 03:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portsmouth UK
Posts: 170
I wish we had Sears - I would buy that darn multimeter - looks capable and a very good price.

__________________
NormanB
230 TE (W124) 1989 with 153,000 miles on the clock - hoping for at least another 100K
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2003, 03:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 571
Norman:

You might try the following:

http://www.sears.com

You can buy most any tool they sell online. I realize you're in the UK; nonetheless, they might sell overseas. You should be able to post such a question at their web site.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2003, 06:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portsmouth UK
Posts: 170
Mike

Thanks for that - in fact before I posted my message I had a look on Sears website. After a good trawl it did rather look as though they were not set up for UK deliveries - hence my post.

But on your prompt I have asked them the question - can do no harm except if they want a zillion dollars for postage!
__________________
NormanB
230 TE (W124) 1989 with 153,000 miles on the clock - hoping for at least another 100K
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-09-2003, 06:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 132
Will it measure Current or Amps?

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-09-2003, 07:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 571
Among other things, it will measure amps, voltage; ohms.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-09-2003, 08:48 PM
fz500sel's Avatar
Happy now in paradise!
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Venice, FL - "sharktooth capital of the world"
Posts: 712
Norman,

I sent you a pm.
__________________
Frank
84 500SEL EURO 101K ( JUST LIKE MY 1ST WIFE. GLAD TO GET RID OF HER! )
85 300D 310K (sold)
90 350SDL 184K sold
83 300D 118K (sold)
88 300E 153k (sold)
93 400E 105K (sold)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-09-2003, 10:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: S. Texas
Posts: 1,237
To send the multimeter to the UK would probably not cost more than $5. I lived overseas for 20 years and sent tons of stuff back and forth. I used to use a rate called 'small packet'. It may not still be in use but it was for items less than 1 kg. There used to be a book rate that was cheap.

If you send me about $30 or equiv. and I will send you one and the change. E-mail me if you are interested.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-10-2003, 11:57 AM
1991300SEL's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 545
Sure enough - checked with local Sears - $19.99. This is a whale of a price for a unit with this many features. May get 2 of 'um.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page