Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2003, 01:29 PM
This space for sale
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,326
Can I replace this on my 126?



I would like to know if its possible to replace this on my 126. I will keep the original MPH speedometer and odometer, but keep the rest, including the computer. Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2003, 02:09 PM
drbrandini's Avatar
GO DUKE!
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wrightsville Beach NC
Posts: 1,512
Snib,

What is that and where did you get it? Does it tell MPG and average fuel economy and such? I have never seen that before..Of course from the looks of it, it never made it to the states..
__________________
Brandon



2008 S550
1957 Dodge D100
1967 VW Microbus 21 Window
2001 Suburban
2004 Beach cruiser bicycle
-----------------GO DUKE!-----------------

"It cannot be emphasized too strongly or too often that this great nation was founded not by religionists, but by Christians; not on religion, but on the Gospel of Jesus Christ. For that reason alone, people of other faiths have been afforded freedom of worship here." Patrick Henry 1776
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2003, 03:26 PM
This space for sale
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,326
Its an instrument cluster.. and I have no idea which model 126 it came from. I do know that this 500SEC AMG has it.. http://www.mbnz.org/gallery/pics/Hans7011025PM.jpg
So is it safe to say its from an AMG 126? Can anyone find links where I can find more info on this cluster? I have a hard time finding it, and didn't find anything in the archives.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2003, 03:28 PM
The Godfather's Avatar
The ModFather
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Khalifonia.
Posts: 1,174
Tech talk
__________________
2003 E55 AMG
2007 FJ Cruiser
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2003, 04:56 PM
Benzman500
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have seen this before. They came out of the AMG cars. I think the right is used as a computer display for information readings. If you could get one it would be a nice touch of something diffrent.
Attached Thumbnails
Can I replace this on my 126?-w126mbde5.jpeg  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2003, 05:54 PM
This space for sale
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,326
Thats what I thought.. how rare are these? What price range should I expect to pay for one? Do you know what kind of info readings it does? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2003, 07:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 788
It did not just come in AMG cars, as I have it in my 420SE Euro. It is an electronic trip computer. It is now and was at the time a rare, euro-only option. The computer computes distance, speed and gas mileage and all variations thereof. I do not think that you can retrofit it into a US car. First, there are switches for it that are on the main console behind the shifter, there is a separate cut-out in the wood for it. I also have about 40 pages (at least) worth of wiring diagrams for it that I got from the MB dealer in Germany, and I think it would be next to, if not completely impossible to retrofit all that wiring. There are sensors and wires strung throughout the whole vehicle for that thing.

Other things to consider are:

The clock is now in digital format on the bottom of the speedo, so you couldn't simply retain your MPH speedo by fitting it in the new pod, you would have to put the MPH speedo face off your car (with the appropriate cutout) on the KMH one and get it recalibrated if necessary and have it modified to read in miles.

The tach is moved from the right side to the left, so your wiring on the back of your cluster would not match up. Since everything is in a little different place, I don't think anything would match up between your car and the cluster. And there is a special plug that goes on the back of the trip computer, which again would tie into the wiring mess mentioned above.



The reason I have all the wiring diagrams, is that when my car was imported to the US, the idiots that did the conversion messed it up, probably cut a sensor here and there and it turns on and everything, but the readings are all messed up, so I got the wiring diagrams from Germany in an attempt to fix it...when I have the time and patience!!!

So...it doesn't look good. However, if you insist on trying this, I'd be more than happy to copy and mail you the wiring diagrams and the little instruction manual supplement that came with it...BUT..it's all in german!! And..the computer itself is in German and it reads in KMH and liters/100KMs traveled(euro computation of fuel mileage) ...about useless over here.

There is one on german ebay right now, where it looks like you got that pic! So there's one for sale right now. Little over 70 bucks at the moment. But my recommendation...don't mess with it.
__________________
'86 420SE Euro
904 Midnight Blue, Gray Velour
Dad bought it new, now I own it.

"A Mercedes-Benz is like a fine wine, it only gets better with age."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2003, 07:33 PM
This space for sale
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,326
Thanks for the informative info. Yes, that is exactly where I found the item. I was looking for more info on the cluster cuz I thought it was cool to have a trip meter that will determine MPG, etc.
I will not bid on this item, since you said its more confusing than what it is. I thought all I would need to do is move the wires to the correct slots. But from the sounds of it, I will have to get it reconfigurated and what not and this is gonna be a *****.

Also, the German translation of the diagrams you offered to copy would be hell for me. My grandmother knows "OK" German, but she probably won't be able to help me translate it 'cus it deals with electronics/car parts.

Oh well... I will save that $100 I was planning on spending and put it in savings for upcoming maintenance/repairs.:p

I really appreciated your info. Thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2003, 09:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 788
Yeah, you're probably making the correct decision here. Yeah, the other things would likely still plug in, but like I said, there is one big plug that goes into the trip computer, with what looks like 100 wires on it...and each and every one of those wires goes somewhere!! And all the parts you couldn't get over here, switches, sensors....and so on and so on.

Actually, to be quite honest with ya, I kinda wish I didn't have this option! When my dad ordered the car, I suppose he thought it would be cool or something. Since the thing doesn't even really work at this time, I only have a 2 pod cluster. I think the big tach on the right is cool. On the other hand, that dumb economy gauge and the clock that likes to not work are good not to have. Trade offs trade offs!! But it will definitely be cool when I get it working again......who knows how long that will take, we all know what kind of a royal PITA electrical/wiring is
__________________
'86 420SE Euro
904 Midnight Blue, Gray Velour
Dad bought it new, now I own it.

"A Mercedes-Benz is like a fine wine, it only gets better with age."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page